Cape Lifting 08 – I do like to be beside the seaside

 

West Bay Broadchurch cliffs 1I recently went on holiday by mistake to West Bay and when I went to the beach I had many revelations.  First of all I found a new location for the second Love in London story.  I always imagined that each story would be based somewhere different so it would be called Love in… insert place name here.  I absolutely love the place and imagined how it would be in the winter time.

 

 

West Bay Broadchurch cliffs 2It has a beautiful coastline that I quickly realised was used in the rather amazing TV show Broadchurch.  It has a great history and also what they call the Jurassic coastline.  I’ve always had a thing for seaside towns and for some reason want to spend time in one during a really cold out of season period with the brutal waves crashing against the entire town.  I decided there and then that part two would be set there and it would give me an excuse to have dinosaurs in part 2.  Still need to finish all the issues of the first story but it’s always good to plan ahead.

08-Cape-Lifting-Batman-Postcard

 

I also had a great idea to do the next Cape Lifting like a seaside postcard so did loads of Batman sand sculptures.

This drove Nik Coppin into a massive hissy fit which forced his to colour in his own Cape Lifting as I said I had no time to do another one and if one wasn’t ready by Weds I’d use the Batman sand castles.

 

 

 

 

08-Cape-Lifting-Fantastic-Four

 

When he sent it there was no background and there was far too much space above and below.  So as a good editor in chief I quite happily did the background for him.

He replied, “You’re such an asshole.  But that did make me laugh. C**t.”

 

 

 

 

SEE ALL THE CAPE LIFTING COMICS HERE

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Cape Lifting, comics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

