Uncurated – Outsider Comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe 2013 – Shattered

Woke up this morning absolutely shattered.  Lewis Bryan was in the front room with me and had the sense to bring a blow up bed and a sleeping bag.  I brought a picnic blanket and used the leather cushions on the sofa as a makeshift mattress which kept sliding all over the floor.  Basically what I’m saying is, by the time I listened to Coppin talking bollocks till the early hours I had 5 hours sleep.  Not great considering that’s all I had the night before.

We headed to the first Huggers show for 11.15am on the bus which was full.  Great fun but I kept banging my head on the roof of the bus.  After I had an orange juice and a coffee and bumped into the lovely Lucy Frederic who is having a lovely first fringe and even managed to get an agent out of it. Hoorah! She deserves it.  I did the second Huggers show which was even more fun than the first.  Great numbers in for a Monday.  About 70.

Brought some wine and groceries for the guys and headed back to the flat to charge up my phone and answer some emails and got my marching orders from Nik to bring his T-shirt, trainers, iPad and hoodie.  Bloody slave driver. Got a text message from Alex to do Pick of the Fringe because as always someone pulled out last minute.  Also got two other texts to do other gigs because someone pulled out at the last minute.  I obliged Alex because I’m staying at his flat but declined the other two.

I had a chat with Coppin and Paul Revill, well I say chat, a good old bitch about people we don’t like.  Had a wander, ate a German sausage and saw a poster for a show called Lost Cabaret.  It was about to start so I thought I’d pop in and watch it.  One of the cast members in costume came out to do some last minute fliering.  He looked at me and I said I was coming to the show.  He looked at me like I was a piece of shit on the floor and grunted’ “oh really” so I thought fuck you and went next door to watch fellow animator Gareth Morinan’s show.  I was going to watch it anyway so I was over the moon that it was just starting.  What can I say.  Brilliant.  Cheeky.  Full of pointless data.  He really made excellent use of his power points and animation.  He’s got a nice easy going way about him and I don’t want to spoil things but I will say there was a bit where he dealt with some loud talking late arrivals with a power point heckle out down that got a round of applause.  Definitely worth seeing.

Gareth Morinan – Playing the Numbers Game – The Banshee Labyrinth at 6:40pm

4/5

Lost Cabaret

Go fuck your self/5

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh Festival, Edinburgh Fringe, Edinburgh Fringe 2013, Free festival, Free Fringe, Fringe Blog, mike belgrave, Mike Belgrave's Edinburgh blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

