Uncurated – Outsider Comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe 2013 – Comedy has lost direction

Once I got off the train I headed straight to the Espionage where I did my solo show two years ago to packed rooms and no reviews.  I don’t count the person who came on the first day and accused me of looking at me set list when I clearly said out loud I was checking the time and there was no clock in the room.  But that’s all behind me and I’m not bitter at your crappy shoddy Three Weeks reviewing bastards bastards bastards.

While I was supping on a pint I chatted to a lovely couple and bored them about my limited knowledge of classical music and Wagner, then recommended them to see Trouble With Comedy by Ian Cognito.  They definitely said they’d go and would see me there later.

Saw Nik and Alex who both looked happy but harassed.  The Hefter/Englebert problem was obviously proving to be a bit of a pain in the arse due to exaggerations, Chinese whispers and denials.  This is how wars start.  I grabbed the keys off Nik as I was sleeping on his sofa for four days and I dropped my bags off and went for a walk.  I needed something to eat and had to make my pilgrimage and give my patronage to Pie Maker.  The best pie shop in Edinburgh.  I has an extra large pepper steak and an extra large sausage roll.

I headed to The City Cafe where I bumped into the lovely couple who took me up on my offer of Cogs.  The show was pretty full and Lewis Shaffer was there who has known me for years and got my name wrong and was unhappy with his own show.  I love the guy and personally wouldn’t have him any other way.

I’ve seen Cogs many times do 45 minute shows and was looking forward to seeing what he would do for an hour without the constraints of being in a comedy club and he didn’t disappoint.  He basically did a “best of” and he intertwined it into a narrative about being unlucky in comedy and turned some of one liners into songs.  What can I say about Cogs?  He is a glorious time capsule of the dangerous refreshing comedy from the 80s and it’s fresh and exciting today as it was back then.  It also made me realise how safe, laddish, unremarkable, waffling, making observations that don’t actually exist boring comedy is these days.  And I include myself in that.  It’s every comedians duty to watch this show then take a long hard look at yourself in the mirror, preferably in sexy underwear while waving a cucumber, then email me the photo please.

A legend, a master class and seriously fucking funny.

5/5

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh Festival, Edinburgh Fringe, Edinburgh Fringe 2013, Free festival, Free Fringe, Fringe Blog, Mike Belgrave's Edinburgh blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

