Modern Music is Rubbish

OK, I’m having a rant here.  Modern music is Rubbish.  We’ve gone backwards.  There’s far too many people wearing suits.  Not suits like in the sixties because it was cool like The Beatles and Gerry and the Pacemakers, but boring old dull suits that you’d wear to a job interview.  Someone tells us that’s cool and like a bunch of sheep spiked with drugged grass you all follow and say, “Yes that’s cool.”  I’m old enough to remember when Take That were one of many god awful infestations on the charts.  They were nauseating to anyone over the age of three.  Somewhere along the line someone claimed they were cool and now they’re national institutions.  No they’re not, they’re still god awful.  They’ve had one vaguely OK song.  Shine.  It’s only OK because it’s a Beatles rip off and even then the video is boring and uninspired.  Robbie Williams goes solo, puts on an old man’s suit and murders Rat Pack songs.  After buying this steaming pile and listening to the first two tracks does anyone actually listen to this bilge again?  I wonder how many copies of this was bought as a present and as of yet still remain un-listened to.  And why?  Because someone said it was cool.  Well I got that memo and wiped my arse with it.

We’ve gone backwards people.  Check out David Bowie in 1979 with Klaus Nomi on Saturday night Live.  This isn’t some niche market, this was one of the most famous singers in the world on one the most popular program in America and look how cool they are but most importantly interesting and pushing boundaries.

And best of all check out Bob Blackman in the 60s beating his head with a tray to the tune of Mule Train?  Now look at Plan B and tell me he’s edgy.

I was hoping when I got into my forties I’d be moaning about music in the way people complained about punk or The rolling Stones, but I’m moaning because no one seems to have any balls any more.  And finally I’d like to play you out with The Legendary Stardust Cowboy on possible one of the best appearances on any TV show ever.

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in mike belgrave, Outsider Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Modern Music is Rubbish

  1. Robin Renee says:

    That appearance of Bowie on SNL changed my life, literally. It’s when I saw how much is possible. I want to do what I can to remember and live with the level of awareness of raw potential I recognized that night.

  2. Motty says:

    You are spot on Bellers! Today’s music is Fookin shite!!!

Leave a Reply

