Towel Day 2012

For those of you who don’t know, Towel Day is on the day of Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy author Douglas Adams’ birthday.  And every year on that day people do things in an Adams-esque style, like carry towels and wear dressing gowns.  It’s terrible eccentric and jolly good fun.  For those of you paying attention my blog will know that I entered a competition to animate a prophetic Douglas Adams skit written and narrated by him about the oncoming of electric books.  This was done about 20 years before the Kindle and iPad.

Well I’m proud to say I came runner up in the competition.  And got invited to the awards ceremony, which was unfunnily enough held on Towel Day 25th May.  I thought I was being good coming from Peckham but there was Jake Rowlinson from Plymouth and Johanna Aulen from Finland.  It was lovely meeting all the other contestants and I have to say there was an unusually large number of lovely people there.  In fact I didn’t find one annoying person there.  I had a good chat with Bella Pagan the Senior Commissioning Editor of Tor UK.  She was really cool. That’s the book world for you.  Read a book and makes you lovely.

I got interviewed and photographed in front a towel that had the words “Don’t Panic” written on it, which I was informed got nicked by the end of the party.  Must have been all that free wine and beer that lubricated the thieving inhibitions.  The winner got an iPad 3 and I got a pile of Hitchhiker’s books and would have got a copy of The Animator’s Survival Handbook if they had enough copies for the runners up.  Well me, I’m the only
one that didn’t get one, but they assured me there would be one in the post.

Along with the wine there was little cakes with the number 42 on them and all in all I had a fabulous time.  Here’s the offending runner up video I made.
About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Animation, Douglas Adams. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Towel Day 2012

Leave a Reply

