Stop! It’s too detailed.

So, barely any time left to hand in my three projects on 11th May and we only have one more class together before heads down to work on the final project.

Today we sat around with Paul to discuss our progress on our animatics.  I showed him part of the animatic I was working on.  For this animatic I took the pictures I had already drawn for the “rough animatic” and started to roughly animate them.  Just legs and arms roughly swinging stiffly and the lip syncing done in Toon Boom.

Paul said that my animatic was too good.  Because if I was to show what I’d done to clients they would think it was finished and there would be no room for change, creativity and input.  He did have a point.  When he asked me how it was going improve I found it difficult to explain.  If it’s more basic it’s more open to interpretation.  However even with the short section I did, I found it really useful.  Perhaps once I’ve handed in my projects I may finish off my rough animation in order to guide me with my final project because I want it to be excellent.

On another note, I haven’t had the results of my entry into the Douglas Adams Getting the Book invented Properly competition and mine was the second most viewed, see here.  Currently following Stephen Fry on twitter to see if he mentions me.  He’s one of the judges.

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

