Green Screen Filming

Today I met up with my lovely and lively friend Nadia to do the green screen filming for my Minor project all about books. It definitely helped to have my storyboards in digital form with all the dialogue on it because it meant Nadia knew exactly what she had to do. Although the next time I do it, I’ll remember to work out a shooting schedule and send a copy to Mark the lovely chap who does the green screening organising for us. The scenes were fairly quick to work out, but I cannot stress how useful a filming schedule is, because I was able to get on with my solo scenes while Nadia got changed.

Mark was worth his weight in gold because he asked if I was using a PC or a Mac because the rendering is different and he recommended me using After Effects CS5.5 as the keying is much better than previous versions. In fact he even said it was so easy now his son could do it.

Even with me organising the shoot as well as I could and meeting Nadia early, once we took Nadia’s need for coffee, ringing down for Mark, getting the studio sorted, getting changed and Nadia doing her hair and make up we didn’t start filming till 11.45 and the studio was booked from 11-1.

I was going to film the scenes Nadia and me were in together separately but Mark pointed out that if we did them together we can interact better. He pointed out I can just have the two films running together and still do any effects with the characters separately. For example Nadia has to be telling me off and I’m supposed to be about 12 and much shorter. She needed to know roughly where to look but we had to keep reminding ourselves that it wasn’t 100% important to try and get it perfect as I could sort that out in the final edit and it would be better for us to concentrate on acting it out well.

One of the many great things about doing green screen work when you’re using a voice over is the fact that you can work quickly. Unlike a normal film where you have to make sure the lighting and sound is all ready to go, once you get your green screen sorted it’s just one take after another with just a bit of zooming in with the camera. I can see why more and more sci-fi films like to use it. In the long run it’s cheaper and quicker to do scenes.

I still need to collect the footage to see how it’s all comes out and we did three or four takes of every scene but all in all I was happy with the whole experience and look forward to adding the animations.

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Animation, Animation MA, Green Screen porject, London Met. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

