Techniques, techniques

Still in a dilemma about what style to do for my final project, but I think I’ve almost got it sorted.  What I’ve decided to do for my main project to draw all the animations myself.  Something that struck me in particular was the slap dash way I drew the fight sequence and how good it suddenly looked when I cut it into Photoshop and animated it.

I’ve never been the best artist in the world, but I can do OK daft cartoons.  What I lack in talent I make up for in good looks and charisma.

I may be teaching you dear reader to being in the receivership of an egg orally in the head department, but this is probably more for my benefit than yours.

While playing around with a new electric artist’s tablet (not an ipad thingie, one of those old fashioned things you plug in) I recently bought I made a discovery.  I used to have one but lost the pen and found out that the companies that make these things want you to lose the pen and have to buy the kit all over again, because the bastards won’t sell you a replacement one.

One the other hand the new mat is flexible and not so slidy so it’s easier to draw on, every cloud and all that.

So I was having a play around with my new toy and discovered a nice way to do my assets for my animations.  It’s absolutely the same as when I used to draw cartoons, but with a computer.  I really don’t know why it hadn’t occurred to me before.

1. In Photoshop have the bottom layer all white.

2. Open up a layer on top of the background layer.

3. Choose the pen tool

4. Make the size of the pen 1 pixel. 

05. Make the colour of the pen grey.

6. Sketch away the picture you want to do, just as you would  with a pecil.  It’s always good to zoom in (“Ctrl” + “+”)
 

7. Open up a new layer on top of that one.

8. Go over the drawing with a thicker black pen tool.

9. Delete or blink out the pencil later.  I also used the paint bucket tool to black in a few bits

For use in animation the legs, head tail, eyes etch can be put into different layers to enable you to import them into After Effects.  Not a bad simple way to set yourself up with a simple character or asset to start animating with.

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Animation, Animation MA, London Met and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Techniques, techniques

  1. Pingback: It’s all coming together « Mike Belgrave's Animation Blog

Leave a Reply

