Dilemma

Oh great. I now have a dilemma. I now have three ways to do my final project. The original idea was to do the whole thing in photo montage cutout animation.

However after showing the class my short fight sequence animatic

and the story boards that Nik drew with the two of us doing all the dialogue (with a little bit of motion),

everyone said that out of the three they liked the one Nik and I did together the best. They like the fight sequence and well. Even though they liked the photo montage version, it was the least favourite.

So I showed all three to a friend of mine afterwards who isn’t an animator but tends to have a good impartial eye on most things and he said his favourite was the fight first, mine and Nik’s a close second and the cutout montage third.

My main reason for taking note of what they said is because to draw the pictures takes less time that taking photos, putting them into photoshop and cutting around them. Plus I’m limited with what I take a photo of. I’m also unsure of the law when it comes to using photos of streets and shops and it I accidentally take a picture of someone and they complain.

I needed to storyboard the script as the one Nik did was a little all over the place plus I need to actually do it for my project. And it would e nice to have one that’s perfect with the new version of the script.

While I was drawing the characters I came up with yet another idea. Why not use all the elements I spoke of? Really mix and match the animation and the photos and the sketchiness to match whatever I want to effective use in time and artistic endeavours.

However Paul St George our tutor did say that sometimes things haven’t been done for a reason. It Luke be because it’s a bad idea and not an undiscovered creative spark you have related with your flints of genius.

What to do, what to do?

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

