I feel so animated.

For my MA in animation at London Met we have been required to start a blog, so here it is.  The idea is to write down experiences, ideas, inspiration and trouble shooting in order for fellow students and tutors to check up on our progress.  So far this has been a head first crash course in at the deep end experience, which is exactly what I expeceted.  It’s been years since I used Illustrator and and I have used After effect before, but after my first term and many many hours in front of a monitor, I’m pretty much up to date with both now thanks to the mac lab at the uni.

I’ve had a lot of fun and so far have produced the following animations.  This one is the title sequence and regenration from the Doctor Who episode Power of the Daleks.  This was done with Illustrator and After Effects and I did it in Black White in the style of South Park.  I mainly did this as I’m a huge fan of South Park and Doctor Who and it was also a great way to get to grips with Illustrator CS4 and Illustrator CS4.

It also meant I could get some feedback from my friends about my newly learned animation skills.  I also did this for my final project of the first term.  It’s a short surreal cartoon called Martian-Pig.  I’m hoping to have a whole series of them as I really like the character.

I’ve also done this bit of Gilliam-esque type animation for a Douglas Adams competition.

You can get to the animation here

I mainly gave myself the Douglas Adams project as a bit of a test.  I wanted to see how quickly I could do it and also I wanted to keep my skills fresh over the break period.  It also gave me an excuse to learn PhotoShop a bit more too.

I’ve also had a lot of fun plying about in Illustrator. A program I’ve always quite enjoyed but never got the hang of.  However I combined two of my favourite things, Batman and South Park and created these images.  Each one I’m so over the moon about I’m thinking of getting a T-Shirt of the Joker made for myself.

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Animation, Bane, Batman, Doctor Who, Power of the Daleks, South Park, The Dark Knight Rises, The Joker. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

