Edinburgh Fringe blog Thurs 25th Aug

Well I didn’t have breakfast and Sophia needed to leave early to go to Mary’s Close so I had a sneaky couple of pies at Piemaker. Don’t tell her. Then I went out flierig and as usual Nik turned up about half an hour before Huggers started. I seriously though we were going to pull the show because there was no one there as the show should have started then about 10 turned up and we did the show.

There wasn’t many in for my solo show so thank god I had about 6 friends and some performers in the crowd otherwise I would have played to about 7. Saying that it was a good show because more of them really wanted to see me.

There was a lovely crowd in for Pick of the Fringe and then we went to the Beehive where the kitchens were closed again due to a big party eating them out of house and pub. They’re getting too popular for my liking.

I went onto Ukulele Cabaret where I came joint second and finished my set by cracking my head on the ceiling as I left the stage. This got me my biggest laugh of the fringe.

I hung around with Sophia to watch the next show where Rayguns Look Real Enough were supporting. We waited ages and ages and eventually when they came on stage they were great but the sound was so bad you couldn’t make out what they were doing clearly. Afterwards there was this Irish rap band everyone was there to see. Again, they were amazing but it was just this muffled wall of noise, so we left after two songs. We popped into Shaggers for a bit, then grabbed fish and chips and got a cab home. Three more days to go.

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh Festival, Edinburgh Festival 2011, Edinburgh Fringe, Edinburgh Fringe 2011, Free festival, Free Festival 2011, Free Fringe, Free Fringe 2011, Fringe Blog, Mike Belgrave's Edinburgh blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

