Edinburgh Fringe blog Sat 20th Aug

Today had it’s ups and downs. I started the day with a pizza and headed into town. My god was it busy. One street was so full of tourists waiting for tour buses I had to walk on the other side of the street. Huggers Had plenty of people in and was great fun considering we had no acts. Thank god Bob Slayer got his dates wrong and Sean Brightman, Kate Smurthwaite and Paul Gannon all stepped up. And they all did brilliantly. Great show. I did some fliering and I saw these two women. One had illegal immigrant written on her face and the other was dressed as a beautiful air hostess. So I played the Star Spangled Banner next to them and we had a massive crowd around them. I did a terrible duet with one of the guys from Dirt and some old lady tried to give us 20p. We told her we couldn’t take it as that constitutes as busking. The dirt guys were told off for putting a hat on the floor.

Well my solo show was the worst ever. I was packed to the rafters but with people with no sense of humour. I’ve never had so many people walk out of a show. Some left after forty minutes. More arrived then they left. Eventually I told everyone that tried to come in to fuck off and wait for the next show. Which was a shame as I turned people away and there were loads that did enjoy it. I also got the impression that some people came watch half a show so I’ve decided to make an announcement before the show starts from now on.

In a bad mood I decided to give that act a piece of my mind about being an arsehole when fliering. Didn’t feel any better to be honest. Then I went on the grassmarket and did the Blue Lady kazoo orchestra flash mob. That cheered me up no end. Plenty of people watching and taking photos. Pick of the Fringe was feisty but fun. Had a chat with performers from all kinds of venues throughout the day and realised shouldn’t have taken the bastards in my show personally as this sort of thing was happening to everybody including paid shows. It’s what I remember as Cunt Saturday.

Met Sophia on the train and dis my annual joke of pretending not to see her. Spent ages trying to find somewhere to eat then got a cab to Tollcross. Had an amazing curry then went home. Happy to have her back.

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh Festival, Edinburgh Festival 2011, Edinburgh Fringe, Edinburgh Fringe 2011, Free festival, Free Festival 2011, Free Fringe, Free Fringe 2011, Fringe Blog, Mike Belgrave's Edinburgh blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

