Edinburgh Fringe blog Tues 9th Aug

Today was a strange day. In light of the riots in England there was a subdued atmosphere. Purely by chance I decided to fashion a cardboard box into a sign and wrote the words “free hug” on it. It was just to promote the Huggers show and around the sign I had the Huggers flyers. I got asked for a hug by more people than I could imagine. Especially from performers. I even got hugged by a man on stilts. And lots of people said, “thanks, I needed that.” It also helped to give out loads of fliers and I has my photo taken numerous times. Again Huggers was wonderful fun.! Office Girls Go Crazy thought they were booked but that was fine as we had another pull out.

After this I can’t remember what happened for the rest of the day as I only wrote up to this far. I do know I was generally worried about Sophia and kept checking the news. I called Sophia a few times to find out how things were. She ventured out and said people were leaving notes on the boarded up Poundland saying how much they loved Peckham and how sad they were for what happened. I could have cried.

If I remember any more or you had a beer and violent Arm wrestle, drop me a line and I’ll update this entry. I’m sure it was just full Down and Out, full Pick of the Fringe then over eating at the Beehive with Jem and Alex. Oh and getting a text from Coppin saying I have fleas and I suck cock.

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh Festival, Edinburgh Festival 2011, Edinburgh Fringe, Edinburgh Fringe 2011, Free festival, Free Festival 2011, Free Fringe, Free Fringe 2011, Fringe Blog, Mike Belgrave's Edinburgh blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

