Edinburgh Fringe blog Mon 1st Aug

I never bloody learn. There I was, going to Coppin’s and thinking I would get a good night’s sleep and get up early on the morning to be productive. Just like that Hitler youth song Henning taught me. But no, I followed the words of I’m a lazy Sod by the Sex pistols and woke up an hour and a half late. I didn’t feel too bad as we didn’t get drunk the night before. Although we did finally go to bed at 5.

Henning was skeptical that we’d leave the house before he got out of bed. Well we did just manage to do that. After Coppin’s generous half a tin of moldy beans, one sausage and limp bacon. Last year there was three of us in he car and we managed to sit comfortably by playing tetris with the baggage. This year we slung it in and it seemed fuller than last year.

The journey went pretty smoothly although there were 3 accidents in he first 100 miles. One of them pretty nasty. I played Coppin some of my favourite songs like Rape Me, I Think I’m Dumb, Reel Around the Fountain but the heathen wasn’t impressed and found them depressing. Although he did play Wake me up When September Ends about 50 times. We stopped off for some fuel and was charged £1.49 per litre. Thieving bastards. We got some Burger King and chips and drove another 150 miles and stopped at our favourite services, Westmorland Farm Shop. I always used to think it was sad to hear people talking about their favourite services and can’t believe I’m doing it now. The fancy burger place wasn’t open, so we grabbed a coffee and Coppin charged up his phone. Then the journey into town was a breeze/. I dropped Coppin off the flat I shared with him last year and made my way to my flat. I parked in the private underground car park and got into the flat. I have to say it’s one of the nicest flats I’ve stayed in Edinburgh. I have my own shower and toilet. The front room is massive and there’s a balcony with lounges and a barbecue. I’m sharing with this guy called Craig who isn’t a performer. I’m renting the room from the other person who lives there. I’m looking forward to coming home to a bit if normality each night.

I showered unpacked my bag and then got a bus to a bar in Tollcross to meet Alex, Jem and Coppin. It was great to see them again and we took the piss out of Jem by being shocked when he got a round in. Alex must have been stressed because he actually drank a pint of lager. His first in about two years. We had a good laugh and eventually Alex buggered off home and the remaining three went off to Darios for wine and Italian food. I love this place. It’s simple, unpretentious, the foods good, inexpensive and the staff are lovely. You also get the impression that as long as you keep ordering food and drink then you can stay in there as long as you want. We ate, drank, insulted each other and laughed till it was time to go so I grabbed a cab.

About Mike Belgrave

I am Mike Belgrave, stand up comedian. animator, outsider music musicologist, shambolic ukulele player and music video director extraordinaire.
This entry was posted in Edinburgh Festival, Edinburgh Festival 2011, Edinburgh Fringe, Edinburgh Fringe 2011, Free festival, Free Festival 2011, Free Fringe, Free Fringe 2011, Fringe Blog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

